Victoria Agreement Upsc

April 14th, 2021 by

In 1982, in Port Louis, the three countries of Madagascar, Mauritius and Seychelles came together to build a region of peace and prosperity. The Oceans Commission of India was officially institutionalized in 1984, following the signing of the Victoria Agreement in Seychelles. The Indian Ocean Commission is headquartered in Mauritius. 1n 1986, Comoros and reunification, a French overseas department signed the regional cooperation agreement. The Oceans Commission of India (IOC) recently granted India observer status. The Mozambique Canal is one of the strategically advantageous geographical features of the Western Indian Ocean, which is important to the C.I.I.E. Before the opening of the Suez Canal, it served as the main link between the West and the East. Recently, it has regained its importance due to tensions in the Strait of Hormuz. The IOC was created in 1984 by the Port Louis Declaration and institutionalized in 1984 in Seychelles by the General Cooperation Agreement, better known as the Victoria Agreement. Read on to find out all that`s important about the IOC, members of the Indian Ocean Rim Association and other important facts about IORA for UPSC.

India, as an observer, can truly contribute to the IOC without being a “big brother.” The members of the IOC are Madagascar, Seychelles, Reunion (Overseas Territory of France), Mauritius and Comoros. Observers of the IOC are India, China, the EU, Malta and the International Francophonie Organization (a French-speaking collective of 54 countries). The Indian Ocean Rim Association or everyone known as IORA was formerly known as the Indian Ocean Rim Association for regional cooperation. It was founded in March 1997. Its observers include China, Malta, the European Union, the International Organization of Francophonie (OIF), India, Japan and the United Nations. Let us know how you`re going to prepare for the current area by commenting in the box below and you can also share your thoughts on this article. Good luck! In March 2020, India became a member of the Indian Ocean Commission, which India will benefit in many ways. The IOC will also benefit from this welcome.

The Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) is an intergovernmental organization that links five countries in the African Indian Ocean: Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Reunion (an overseas region of France) and Seychelles. Both India and the IOC should benefit from this relationship. We write articles that are simple, easy to understand, but we always ensure high quality standards.

Comments are closed.